May 2, 2022

Women's Division I Finalists Confirmed for Collegiate Rugby Championship

2 May —National Collegiate Rugby (NCR) announced the final teams that will compete for the Women’s Division I Club title at the Collegiate Rugby Championship in New Orleans.

Division I Club National Finalists

Grand Valley State and IUPUI automatically qualified for the tournament as champions of the Great Lakes and Ohio Valley conference tournaments, respectively. Both teams are undefeated in Spring 7s, and are riding strong momentum into May Madness.

Great Waters’ UW-Eau Claire and MARC’s Kutztown are strong contenders for the medal rounds. UWEC is undefeated this spring and features All American, Suisie Dawson while Kutztown brings both CRC experience and a second place finish in the MARC 7s series.

Iowa State returns to New Orleans after placing 8th in last year’s finals.  Led by All American, Maddie Dunn, the team is well-prepared following a challenging circuit in the Midwest Conference.

Coach Taylor Rozman has rebuilt the Wisconsin program and will lead the Badgers back to the CRC after a few-year hiatus. 

Several schools will be making their first trip to the national 7s finals including Central Missouri, Coastal Carolina, Kent State, Roger Williams, and UW Stevens Point. Coastal Carolina have been dominant in SARC 7s competitions this Spring and Kent State, led by All American Brook Barnes, will be a difficult opponent for anyone.

The tournament starts on May 28 with round robin play across three groups. The top four teams will advance to national semifinals on May 29, while the remaining teams will be seeded across two consultation brackets.

The semi-finals and championship matches will be played in the Shrine on Airline stadium and broadcast live on The Rugby Network.

Hosted by Major League Rugby’s NOLA Gold, the 2022 Collegiate Rugby Championship will be held over Memorial Day weekend, May 28-30. As the largest college rugby tournament in North America, the CRC will include over 100 collegiate teams.

About National Collegiate Rugby

National Collegiate Rugby is the largest collegiate rugby organization with over 600 men's and women's teams. Evolving from the National Small College Rugby Organization, which was founded in 2007, NCR now serves small colleges, Division II and Division I programs. NCR's sole focus is the growth and development of college rugby through a range of competitions, championship pathways, member services and governance. For more information, visit

About the Collegiate Rugby Championship (May Madness 7s)

Since its founding in 2010, the Collegiate Rugby Championship has driven massive growth in college rugby 7s programs. The tournament draws over 20,000 fans, major sponsors and national broadcast partners, including its current partner CBS Sports. National Collegiate Rugby Championships, LLC took ownership of the event in 2020, partnering with Rhino Sports and Leisure LLC and Patrice Prusmack, wife of the late CRC founder Jon Prusmack. For more information, visit

NCR Media Contact:

Wade Smith

(310) 614-2293

More News Posts

November 30, 2022

Collegiate Rugby Championship Moves to a New City and Weekend

Read More
Press Release
May 31, 2022

Kutztown Powers Through and Secures Men's National Champions Title

Read More
Tournament Info
May 30, 2022

Lindenwood Women Win Fourth Consecutive National Championship

Read More
Tournament Info