April 11, 2023

Five Qualify on Holiday Weekend

April 10 - Five teams across three divisions punched their tickets to the Collegiate Rugby Championship over the holiday weekend, the penultimate round of qualification before Selection Saturday on April 22.

In Women’s Division I, Southern Nazarene defeated Baylor 33-17 in the final of the Lone Star Championship in Waco, Texas. With SNU already qualified, Baylor earned an automatic bid as being the top DI finisher. The Bears join Cornell, Pitt, Boise State, Wisconsin and Clemson in the eight-team field, which will round out with two at-large selections. 

Also qualifying in Waco was the University of Texas - San Antonio in Women’s Division II, defeating Texas Tech to earn the bid. Temple joins UTSA in earning a DII berth, winning the Mid-Atlantic Rugby Conference Championship on home turf in Philadelphia Saturday. The Owls and Roadrunners join Grand Valley State, Roger Williams and Coastal Carolina as qualified teams in DII. 

In Men’s Small College, Babson won the Northeast Regional at the Irish Cultural Center in Canton, Massachusetts. The Beavers went a perfect 5-0 on the day, defeating Endicott 14-5 in the final. A few thousand miles to the west in Monmouth, Oregon, reigning 15s national champion Cal Poly Humboldt won the Northwest Qualifier to continue the bid for two titles in one school year.  

The final weekend of qualification looms, with the last 34 automatic berths set to be claimed Saturday and Sunday, April 15-16, across the country. 

More News Posts

May 17, 2024

Collegiate Rugby Championship Raises Funds for Olympic 7s Teams

Read More
April 29, 2024

Inaugural Class Enshrined in CRC Hall of Fame

Read More
April 28, 2024

Yale Claims Small College National Title

Read More