April 30, 2022

Final 16 Teams Announced for Women's Rugby 7s National Championship

30 April —National Collegiate Rugby (NCR) announced the 16 teams that will compete for the women’s national championship at the Collegiate Rugby Championship in New Orleans.

The final teams were announced during NCR’s Selection Saturday Show on The Rugby Network. Hosted by the Rugby Podcast team of Point Taken, the show unveiled the remaining at-large bids, regional seeding and first round match-ups.

Lindenwood claims the #1 seed in the East Region, and returns as the three-time defending champion. Led by 2021 CRC MVP, Sativa Tarau-Peehikuru, the Lions will seek their fourth straight championship. The Running Eagles of Life University, with experienced players such as Autumn Locicero, take the #1 seed in the West.

Before Lindenwood started its run of CRC titles, Life, led by head coach Rosalind Chou, lifted the trophy in consecutive seasons. Chou is leaving Life for Brown next season, making the 2022 CRC her last tournament with the Running Eagles. 

The CRC features multiple Big 10 programs, including #4 Michigan, #5 Notre Dame and #6 Iowa.

The field includes other strong contenders such as #2 Grand Canyon University, #2 Penn State and #5 Notre Dame College. The GCU Lopes are making their first CRC appearance, and have been rising the ranks of late. #2 Penn State are three-time champions of the CRC, while #5 NDC is looking to reclaim a spot amongst the nation’s elite.

#8 Southern Nazarene enters the CRC in their first ever competitive season.

The CRC also includes a Women’s Division I Club division. The teams for the Division I national championship will be announced on May 3.

The May Madness Bracket Challenge will launch on May 9 giving fans three weeks to complete their brackets ahead of the tournament. The Brackets Challenge will offer a new pool feature that provides fundraising opportunities for clubs.

Hosted by Major League Rugby’s NOLA Gold, the 2022 Collegiate Rugby Championship will be held over Memorial Day weekend, May 28-30. As the largest college rugby tournament in North America, the CRC will include over 100 collegiate teams.

About National Collegiate Rugby

National Collegiate Rugby is the largest collegiate rugby organization with over 600 men's and women's teams. Evolving from the National Small College Rugby Organization, which was founded in 2007, NCR now serves small colleges, Division II and Division I programs. NCR's sole focus is the growth and development of college rugby through a range of competitions, championship pathways, member services and governance. For more information, visit ncrugby.org.

About the Collegiate Rugby Championship (May Madness 7s)

Since its founding in 2010, the Collegiate Rugby Championship has driven massive growth in college rugby 7s programs. The tournament draws over 20,000 fans, major sponsors and national broadcast partners, including its current partner CBS Sports. National Collegiate Rugby Championships, LLC took ownership of the event in 2020, partnering with Rhino Sports and Leisure LLC and Patrice Prusmack, wife of the late CRC founder Jon Prusmack. For more information, visit maymadness7s.com.

NCR Media Contact:

Wade Smith


(310) 614-2293

More News Posts

January 24, 2024

National Collegiate Rugby Introduces the Collegiate Rugby Championship Hall of Fame

Read More
November 10, 2023

Road to the 2024 Collegiate Rugby Championship

Read More
April 30, 2023

CRC Culminates with Men’s National Championships

Read More