May 10, 2022

2022 Collegiate Rugby Championship Becomes the Largest Ever Collegiate Rugby Tournament

10 May — National Collegiate Rugby (NCR) has finalized a field of 110 teams for the 2022 Collegiate Rugby Championships in New Orleans. Hosted by MLR’s NOLA Gold, the national championship tournament will be played at the Shrine on Airline stadium and adjacent fields over Memorial Day, May 28-30.

The three-day Collegiate Rugby Championship will bring together the top teams in the country to compete for national titles across six men’s and women’s divisions, including:

  • Men’s Premier: 32 teams
  • Women’s Premier: 16 teams
  • Men’s Division I Club:  8 teams
  • Women’s Division I Club: 11 teams 
  • Men’s Division II: 16 teams
  • Men’s Small College: 28 teams

The Men’s Division I Club group was the most recent group to be named. This new division includes true club teams including Tulane, UMass, Purdue and UConn.

For 12 years, the CRC has been the official national championship tournament for collegiate 7s teams. National Collegiate Rugby has expanded the opportunities for more teams from more divisions to compete for a national title. With 110 teams, the 2022 tournament becomes the largest collegiate tournament to be held in North America.

Due to the pandemic, the tournament was canceled in 2020 and limited in 2021.  

“The CRC returns in a big way this year. Fans will see more top-level rugby than ever before while enjoying themselves in one of America’s best sports cities” commented Jeremy Treece, NCR CEO.

The fan-favorite Bracket Challenge opened on May 9 giving fans three weeks to complete their brackets ahead of the tournament. The Brackets Challenge will offer a new pool feature that provides fundraising opportunities for clubs.

Many participating teams qualified for the tournament by winning one of over 30 automatic qualification tournaments around the country. NCR invited the remaining at-large teams based on their Spring 7s performance and strength of schedule.

Treece added “We continue to see growth in Rugby 7s and greater competition each year. Our selection committee reviewed many talented teams and were faced with some difficult decisions. We’re sure to see very competitive matches and great individual performance this year.”

All stadium matches will be broadcast through CBS Sport Network or The Rugby Network. The CBS broadcast includes the premier men’s and women’s champion matches. On May 29, the prime-time CBS broadcast will feature exclusively women’s matches and women’s referee crews. The men’s championship matches will be held on Memorial Day, May 30.

The full team list and tournament schedule, including first round match-ups, is available on

About National Collegiate Rugby

National Collegiate Rugby is the largest collegiate rugby organization with over 600 men's and women's teams. Evolving from the National Small College Rugby Organization, which was founded in 2007, NCR now serves small colleges, Division II and Division I programs. NCR's sole focus is the growth and development of college rugby through a range of competitions, championship pathways, member services and governance. For more information, visit

About the Collegiate Rugby Championship (May Madness 7s)

Since its founding in 2010, the Collegiate Rugby Championship has driven massive growth in college rugby 7s programs. The tournament draws over 20,000 fans, major sponsors and national broadcast partners, including its current partner CBS Sports. National Collegiate Rugby Championships, LLC took ownership of the event in 2020, partnering with Rhino Sports and Leisure LLC and Patrice Prusmack, wife of the late CRC founder Jon Prusmack. For more information, visit

NCR Media Contact:

Wade Smith

(310) 614-2293

More News Posts

November 30, 2022

Collegiate Rugby Championship Moves to a New City and Weekend

Read More
Press Release
May 31, 2022

Kutztown Powers Through and Secures Men's National Champions Title

Read More
Tournament Info
May 30, 2022

Lindenwood Women Win Fourth Consecutive National Championship

Read More
Tournament Info