Collegiate Rugby Championship:
April 26-28, Washington DC

About the CRC

The Largest US Collegiate Rugby Tournament

Collegiate Teams
Men's & Women's Divisions

Experience the Festival

Food and Beer Trucks

Food and beer trucks on-site and fully stocked

Live Music

Live music from great local artists

Women's Rugby Museum

US Women’s Rugby traveling museum, over 50 years of history

America’s best collegiate rugby teams face off in the largest collegiate tournament. We want to see you there!

Buy Tickets

About the Collegiate Rugby Championship

Since its founding in 2010, the Collegiate Rugby Championship has driven massive growth in college rugby 7s programs. The tournament draws over 20,000 fans, major sponsors and national broadcast partners, including its current partner CBS Sports. National Collegiate Rugby Championships, LLC took ownership of the event in 2020, partnering with Rhino Sports and Leisure LLC and Patrice Prusmack, wife of the late CRC founder Jon Prusmack.

National Collegiate Rugby (NCR) governs the spring collegiate championships, including the CRC. NCR is the largest collegiate rugby organization with over 600 men's and women's teams. Evolving from the National Small College Rugby Organization, which was founded in 2007, NCR now serves small colleges, Division II and Division I programs. NCR's sole focus is the growth and development of college rugby through a range of competitions, championship pathways, member services and governance. For more information, visit

Maryland SoccerPlex Map

About the Maryland SoccerPlex

Championship Stadium at the Maryland Soccerplex sits low in a bowl-like stadium and is surrounded by 3,200 hard seats, with an overall capacity of 5,000. If needed, there is space for additional, temporary seating. The field has hosted Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup matches, Major League Soccer matches, International friendlies, the Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s, and Women’s Soccer Championships. It has been home to the Washington Freedom of the W-League and the Washington Spirit of the National Women’s Soccer League. It is the only non-Major League Soccer stadium to ever win Field of the Year by the Sports Turf Manager Association, the trade association for the turf industry.

Past events held in Championship Stadium include:

  • Washington Spirit home games
  • DC United Open Cup Games
  • DC United MLS games
  • Charity Matches
  • Rugby Matches
  • College Conference Championships
  • International Soccer Friendlies

Historical Collegiate Rugby Championship Timeline


Jon Prusmack founds the CRC, the first college 7s national championship. Utah wins the inaugural title in Columbus, Ohio, led by Eagle and future MLR pro Thretton Palamo.

2011 - 2012

Dartmouth men win the next two CRCs, launching the careers of Team USA Olympic captain Madison Hughes and Eagle and Freejacks GM Alex Magleby. Army win the inaugural women’s title in 2011.

2013 - 2017

Cal men win 5-straight titles with stars like 2x Olympian Danny Barrett. Penn State women win 3 in a row, followed by back-to-back titles for Life. CRC signs largest sponsorship deal in American rugby history with Penn Mutual.

2018 - 2019

Lindenwood takes over, the men unseating Cal and the women beating Life to win back-to-back double championships. Founder John Prusmack loses his battle with cancer in December 2018. 2019 marks 10-straight years of CRC on National TV.

2020 - 2021

Spring ’20, COVID pauses college rugby. NCR partners with Prusmack’s wife, Patti, to take majority ownership of the event. CRC moves to New Orleans and is only national college competition of 2021, safely returning 56 teams to meaningful play.


Kutztown tops the podium as the Men's Premier National Champions, while Lindenwood women secure an impressive fourth-consecutive championship title. With 110 teams, this was the largest collegiate rugby tournament in the country.


The CRC moves to the Maryland SoccerPlex located outside of Washington, DC. 122 teams competed in a rain-soaked tournament with Mount St. Marys winning the men’s premier cup and Brown University capturing the women’s premier cup.
Buy Tickets